top of page

COUNCIL 2019-2021




Dr Hansen is a lecturer in the Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology, (Faculty of Natural & Agricultural Sciences) at the University of Pretoria (UP). At UP she focuses on teaching GIS and geomorphology. Her research interests focus mainly on cold-climate geomorphology; Antarctic landscapes and ecosystems; the Polar Regions; landscape and process studies; weathering and erosion; desert studies; remote sensing; GIS; geographical statistics; and statistical analyses. She can be reached via email. Her CV can be viewed here.




Laura Bannatyne is a Doctoral Candidate in the Geography Department of Rhodes University. Her research contributes to the Tsitsa Project and focuses on the uncertainty associated with suspended sediment monitoring and the implications of this for catchment management decision making.  Based on a working life spent in the South African water sector, Laura’s interests span a range of topics from water policy and legislation to sediment dynamics. She plays a coordinating role in the Tsitsa Project Sediment and Restoration Community of Practice, and assists with lecturing at Honours level. Laura can be reached via email and her CV is available here.



Past President / Treasurer

Professor Hedding works in the Department of Geography, School of Environmental Sciences (College of Agriculture & Environmental Sciences) at the University of South Africa (Unisa). At Unisa he focuses on teaching periglacial geomorphology; weathering; geoconservation; and environmental science. His research interests focus mainly on geomorphology; weathering; environmental change; Marion Island; and Antarctic geomorphology. He can be reached via email and his CV is available here.




Mr Loubser is a lecturer in the Department of Geography, Geoinformatics and Meteorology (Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences) at the University of Pretoria. At UP, he teaches geomorphology and environmental science. His research interests include rock weathering and periglacial studies, as well as investigations into experimental design philosophy and quantification of elements such as operator and equipment biases in high precision measurements. He can be reached via email and his CV is available here.



Council Member

Abuyiselwe Athandile Nguna is a postgraduate student with the Department of Geography and Environmental Science at the University of Fort Hare. Recently (Sept, 2019) completed an MSc. Will enrol for a PhD, to continue to study geomorphology, aeolian processes and environmental management. He is part of the research group Sub-Antarctic Landscape-Climate Interactions (SALCI) working on Marion Island. He spent two overwintering periods (2015/16 &2018/19) on Marion Island working as a geomorphology field research assistant. Has a vast interest in teaching, research and field work. Abu can be reached via email and his CV is available here.



Council Member

Ms Nyamela is an Environmental Scientist at GIBB (Pty) Ltd.  She provides environmental assessment and management consulting services within the mining industry, spanning from environmental authorisation applications (including environmental impact assessment and environmental management programmes),  environmental opinions as well as mine closure planning. Her research interests include soil erosion, geomorphology, mine closure and rehabilitation, water, waste and renewable energy. She can be reached via email.



Council Member

Elizabeth M (Liezel) Rudolph is a lecturer at UFS in geomorphology, and holds a PhD (from UFH), investigating the glacial history of sub-Antarctic Marion Island with cosmogenic nuclide exposure dating. Her research interests, are mainly cold-climate geomorphology, but also bio-geomorphology and landscape processes in mountainous environments.

She regards field experience an important part of her, and future geomorphologists’, training and believe “Geo’s” have an important part to play in getting South African’s ready for the future impacts of climate change. Liezel can be reached via email.

bottom of page